Inspired by: Blood Oranges

Blood oranges: fashion, recipes and more via Hurray Kimmay

Photo from 52 Kitchen Adventures

 

Today’s inspiration comes from a gorgeous fruit: the blood orange. During a recent trip to the grocery store, I asked my husband to come back with a bag of clementines. Unfortunately, the store was sold out of the sweet, little citrus fruits, but they did have blood oranges. Unsure, he passed on them, but I promptly sent him back the next day to purchase them, and I’m so glad I did!

Tasty, a bit tart, and deep in color, these little wonders look like regular oranges on the outside. Inside you’ll discover a red, ruby colored flesh. Their deep red pulp is rich in flavor! Here’s a photo I took: Juicy Blood Orange photo by Hurray KimmayInspired by these tasty blood oranges, here are a few recipes, fashion and style ideas, and home decor elements that I’d love to try! Click an image to go shopping, get the recipe, or explore some more:

Make your own Blood orange sorbet via Hurray Kimmay

Click for the recipe: Blood Orange Sorbet

Click for a Blood Orange Martini recipe from A Fork in Each Hand

Live in or visiting New York City? Stop by Pazza Notte, one of my favorite restaurants, for their 2 for 1 martini special. Get two of the Blood Orange martinis – and prepare to fall in love.

Let me know if you try either of the recipes, or have one of your own! Since I’m lactose intolerant, I would love to try the sorbet (plus it looks pretty easy). What do you think? Will you try any of these blood orange inspired decor, fashion or food ideas?

Who knows where I’ll find my next inspiration…

xoxo

Kimmay

One thought on “Inspired by: Blood Oranges

Leave a comment